Education 3

My visit to South Africa

It was my first time. I felt so proud to say… I am not a virgin anymore. I finally made it the motherland. The place where I originated from. Where we all originated from. I believe somewhere on the west side of Africa however for me, and not South Africa, but I was excited to be in the home of Nelson Mandela! My mother talked about Africa all the time so I took her spirit with me since her physical form was taken from me due to breast cancer.

I was able to even visit and talk with many of the locals where some thought breast cancer was a white woman’s disease. Others had several family members who either passed away from the disease or currently battling it. One woman, belonging to the Xhosa tribe, has three family members with breast cancer. Please keep them all in your prayers. Another young man, from Lesotho, a small country in South Africa, said he was unsure of how his mother died. They did not do an autopsy.

I learned so much and realized once again, the importance of education. The more we know, the more we do not know. Being a leader does not mean knowing it all. Always continue to learn more and travel more. And do not forget to share the knowledge with someone else. Check out some of my favorite quotes on education below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Here are some photos from my trip:

Yours in service,

AP

Published by

#iHealthAdvocate

Sharing personal stories through activism, advocacy, and passion in hopes to help people through my new journey as a life coach, public speaker and author.

Leave a Reply

